Posts in the category

New York, NY – June 2, 2016 — Winners for the 2016 Radio Mercury Awards were announced this evening at the 25th annual awards presentation held at Stage 48 in New York. This year’s $50,000 Best of Show award was given to Fitzgerald + CO for their Long Story Short Campaign for Quikrete.

“This year’s winners epitomize our mission of distinguishing and honoring the best creative storytellers who engage consumers, and help build brands,” said Erica Farber, president and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau and chair of the Radio Creative Fund. “Long Story Short and all of this year’s winners are models for keeping the art of creative radio writing alive.”

“Long Story Short took home Best of Show because it expressed Quikrete’s mission so creatively and succinctly. The execution mirrored the product benefit perfectly, and made it far and away the most entertaining and effective campaign we heard,” noted Chris Smith, brand creative group head at The Richards Group and this year’s chief judge. “The 16 winners honored tonight are all different from each other, but together create a snapshot of radio done right.”

This year’s Marketer of the Year Award was presented to The Coca-Cola Company. Drew Horowitz, president and chief operating officer of Hubbard Radio presented this year’s award to Carleen McCarthy, Director of Local Media & Experiential Marketing and Sharon Waters, Local Media Director from the Coca-Cola Company. Erica Farber noted that “Coca-Cola was selected to receive this year’s Radio Marketer of the Year award to recognize how enthusiastically they have made radio a key component in their advertising campaigns and have activated numerous programs that leverage radio’s core competencies to garner results.”

The lively ceremony was hosted by the radio team of Brooke and Jubal from Hubbard Radio’s MOVIN’ 92.5 FM in Seattle and included the following presenters: Chris Beresford-Hill, BBDO NY and Larissa Kirschner, Publicis NYC; New York radio personalities – Cubby and Carolina Bermudez from iHeartMedia’s WKTU; Joel Santiago from Univision Radio’s X 96.3 FM; Ralphie Alvarez, from Cumulus’ 95.5 PLJ; and Scott Shannon, from CBS Radio’s WCBS-FM. DJ Whutever from iHeartMedia’s Power 105.1 served as the guest DJ for the night.

Numerous leaders from the creative and advertising community including the aforementioned Chris Smith, Chris Beresford-Hill and Larissa Kirchner were in attendance. Also in attendance were creative teams from 180 LA, Alma DDB, Barton F. Graf 9000, BBDO NY, Bravo NY, Casanova Pendrill, DDB Chicago, FCB Chicago, Fitzgerald + Co, and MullenLowe.

This year’s event was produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau, presented by Hubbard Radio in partnership with iHeartMedia Inc., and sponsored by: Alpha Media, Beasley Broadcasting, Bonneville International, CBS Radio, Cox Media Group, Entercom Communications, Greater Media, Katz Radio Group, Marketron, Miller, Kaplan, Arase LLP, MoreFM, Neuhoff Media, Nielsen Audio, Salem Communications, Sun Broadcast Group, Townsquare Media, vCreative, United Stations Radio Network, Westwood One, Univision Radio, Triton Digital, and E.W. Scripps.

Below is a list of the winning spots. To listen to all of the work awarded at tonight’s ceremony log onto


$50,000 Best Of Show

Long Story Short 1


Fitzgerald + Co


$5,000 Agency/Production Spot


New York Lottery

Casanova Pendrill/McCann


$1,500 Agency/Production Spot





$1,500 International Radio Showcase

Donated Voices

The National University Centre For Organ Transplantation

MullenLowe Singapore


$1,500 Best Promotional Showcase

1065 The Mom

WARH 1065 The Arch

Hubbard Radio


$3,000 Best Use of Radio In an Integrated Campaign

Starving Artists

Mars Chocolate North America / Snickers Crisper

BBDO New York


$1,500 Most Innovative Use of Radio

GE Podcast Theatre presents The Message


BBDO New York


$1,500 Most Innovative Use of Radio

5 Gum

Wrigley/Mars, Inc.

Energy BBDO


$1,500 PSA Spot

UNFairy tales – Hiba




$5,000 Radio Campaign

Long Story Short 2




$1,500 Radio Campaign

Skittles Blank The Rainbow

Wrigley/Mars, Inc.

DDB Chicago


$5,000 Radio Station Produced


Cooper Disposal

Creative Services Group/iHeartMedia


$1,500 Radio Station Produced

Kolping Schutzenfest

Kolping Society of Cincinnati

Hubbard Radio Cincinnati


$3,000 Spanish Language Single/Campaign

Clog Free Pipes II

The Clorox Company

Alma DDB


$1,500 Student Produced Spot

Keep Stories Going

This American Life

The Creative Circus


2016 Radio Marketer of the Year

The Coca-Cola Company



About the Radio Mercury Awards

The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 17,500 commercials have competed for over $3.1 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), and non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards. The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.


Media Contact:

Meghan Buonocore